Niagara Region changes in holiday waste collection

​Garbage, Blue Box, Grey Box, and Green Bin collection will be deferred by one day in the week following Christmas Day in 2019 and New Year’s Day in 2020. Below is the schedule for curbside collection during the holidays:

Regular​ Collection Day ​Changed to:
Monday (Dec. 23) No change​
​Tue​sday (Dec. 24) ​No change
​Wednesday (Dec. 25) ​Thursday (Dec. 26)
​Thursday (Dec. 26) ​Friday (Dec. 27)
​Friday (Dec. 27) ​Saturday (Dec. 28)
​Monday (Dec. 30) ​No change
​Tuesday (Dec. 31) ​No change
​Wednesday (Jan. 1) ​Thursday (Jan. 2)
​Thursday (Jan. 2) ​Friday (Jan. 3)
​Friday (Jan. 3) ​Saturday (Jan. 4)

In the week following Christmas Day (Dec. 26, 27, 28, 30, 31), households may place one extra bag or can of garbage out without a garbage tag on their regular collection day.

Christmas Tree Collection – Jan. 6-10, 2020

  • ​Place tree at the curb by 7 a.m. on your regular collection day
  • Remove all ornaments and decorations
  • Christmas trees wrapped in plastic or buried in snow will not be collected
  • No artificial trees

For more information visit niagararegion.ca/waste or contact the Waste Info-line at 905-356-4141 or toll-free 1-800-594-5542, Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.